Home > Condition, Genetics, Nutrition, POTS > POTSies! I have brought down my heart rate during exercise!

POTSies! I have brought down my heart rate during exercise!

For those who don’t know POTS stands for Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome.  Often found in people who have CFS and found in those who don’t…technically.  I don’t recall having had it before but after I delivered my awesome son, I decided that I MUST workout and bounceback.  So I joined a gym and didn’t make progress.  So I got a personal trainer to kick my butt.  He had us get on treadmills to warm up, and I have to tell you I could barely walk.  So I decided to test my heart rate and it was 170…walking….slowly!

 To decode POTS a bit, “P” for postural means that it is dependent on your posture.  “O” for Orthostatic means standing up.  “T” for Tachycardia means high heart rate, and Syndrome.  Typically the more distance between your feet and head, the more difficult it is to get your blood up to your head.  Normally your vessels in your feet/legs will constrict to push the blood up. But if you have POTS it is not happening.   So either you heart beats faster to get the blood up there, or you faint.  Unfortunately the fainting part can be very dangerous, but the racing heart rate can be dangerous in a longer term way. 

Pulsometr donnay

Pulsometr donnay (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For the longest time, I thought that my high heart rate came from the thyroid medication I was taking, so I decided (all on my own) to come down off of it.  That’s another story, but suffice it to say my heart rate did not come down, and several other (bad) things happened. 

I have a great friend I walk with, on the same course. The advantage is its the same work out every day.  So I got myself a little heart monitor and started seeing how high it got.  My max value had come down to 140! What had I done in the intervening time?  About a hundred different things!

But I had a hunch.  That hunch had to do with Alpha Lipoic Acid (ALA). I had been on a low and slow protocol for this several times and did not think it had made any difference in my day to day life.  I did know however that it was good for the liver. But I decided to test it.  I made sure I wasn’t trying any other interventions and went through a couple rounds of this protocol.  What did I notice immediately afterwards?  My max heart rate is down to 120 on the same path.

I still get really tired, and don’t have tons of energy, but at least I can now exercise without fearing I’m going to give myself a heart attack!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 11, 2013 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

