Home > Depression, POTS, Sleep > Tricyclics for Mast Cell

Tricyclics for Mast Cell

There are several tricyclics in the market.  These were used as antidepressants before SSRIs became popular.  They can help children who wet the bed when they get older, or help you sleep.   For me, I used it for sleep but lost interest in food.  This made for an easy diet and a 60lb effortless weightloss.  My friends worried that I did not have proper nutrition but I finally got my body to use my fat stores. Yeah! 🙂

Now what are mast cells? From Wikipedia:  “is a resident cell of several types of tissues and contains many granules rich in histamine and heparin. Although best known for their role in allergy and anaphylaxis, mast cells play an important protective role as well, being intimately involved in wound healing and defense against pathogens.[2]” 

Many people with POTS (Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome) also have mast cell problems. This means there is a lot of inflammation and allergic reactions. This often manifests as skin inflammation, and for me sometimes I think it results in me taking  a “power nap” soon after eating items that activate mast cells.

Tricyclic antidepressants may be beneficial in CFS because of their ability to inhibit brain mast cell activation and release of proinflammatory molecules. (1)   Interestingly these happen in the brain.

There are several types of tricyclics.  The one I used is amitriptylene for sleep.  It takes about 6 weeks for it to go into full effect I lost weight easily and was not hungry.  Finally I saw that I was beginning to look gaunt. So I stopped sure that my weight gain would return….NOT!  Slowly I began to get an appetite again, and it was a normal hunger not craving.  Weight gain?  NOT!

It was only after 3 years, when under a lot of stress that my weight gain began and has continued steadily for the last 5 years.  I tried the amitryptiline again, but did not have the same effect :(.

Nonetheless, there is something significant about its effect. It may histamine related, maybe not.   Needs discovery.

  1. November 15, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Not what I was hunting for but wonderful anyway! Good for you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

